This is the "Home" page of the "How to Find a Legal Job" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Find a Legal Job   Tags: job hunting, legal employment  

A short guide to searching for legal employment
Last Updated: Feb 7, 2014 URL: http://cooleylawlibguides.com/findlegaljob Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to Find a Legal Job

Overview:

This research guide is a selective guide to aid the individual in knowing how to use Westlaw and Lexis to find a job in the legal field. Locating career information and specific databases are listed for each electronic resource.

I.          WESTLAW RESOURCES

Westlaw offers a variety of legal directories. The directories listed can be an excellent source of information on potential employers (where to apply, interview information, etc.). To access these databases, sign onto Westlaw using your invididual login credentials and then either click the links below or begin typing the full name (i.e., West Legal Directory) into the search box and select the directory you wish to use from the drop down choices that will appear.

Name                                                                     Database

West Legal Directory

For Michigan                                                         WLD-MI

For a specific practice area                                WLD-XX insert practice area abbrev.

For attorneys in private practice                         WLD-PRI

For corporate law offices and counsel             WLD-CORPCO

For government law offices                                WLD-GOV

For judges                                                             WLD-JUDGE

 II.         LEXIS RESOURCES

Lexis also makes available a number of directories. Academic users have two basic options for accessing these sources. The first would be to use them at Lexis.com. To access Lexis.com as an academic user, sign in to Lexis Advance using your individual username and password, then choose "Lexis.com" from the "Research" drop-down menu in the upper left. Once in Lexis.com, clicking on any of the links below will take you to the search box for that particular database. If instead, you would prefer to access the directories in Lexis Advance, choose "Browse sources" from the initial screen, and then click the "Directories" filter in the "Source" tab on the left.

Name                                                                     Library and Database

Lexis Employer Directory                                  CAREER; EMPDIR

Martindale-Hubbell

U.S. Professional Biography Listings              CAREER; USBIO or MARHUB; USBIO

U.S. Practice Profile Listings                             CAREER; USPROF or MARHUB; USPROF

Michigan Listings                                                 MARHUB; MIDIR

Legal News Publications                                   LEGNEW; ALLNWS

In addition to the directories above, Lexis offers networking opportunities for specific practice areas (http://www.lexisnexis.com/communities). Access to free tools such as blogs, wikis, RSS feeds, and email updates allow users of Lexis to reach out and network with other professionals throughout the United States and internationally.

 

Author Information

Korinna Kasara is a reference librarian at the Grand Rapids campus. 

Last updated 11/8/13.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip